Skip to main content



The UNM Hobbit Society was founded in the summer of 2003. The initial membership including primarily students from Dr. Leslie Donovan's Spring 2003 University Honors Program course, "J.R.R. Tolkien: Writings, Myths, and Sources." In the Fall of 2003, the group became an Chartered Student Group. In the spring of 2009, the group established the Intellectual Hooliganism Colloquium to showcase research presentations on fantasy, science fiction, and popular culture topics by UNM undergraduate and graduate students. The group became a chartered Mythopoiec Society chartered group in May 2010.

2017-2018 UNM Hobbit Society Cabinet Members

President, Jessica Johnson -

Vice President, Christine Anderson -

Secretary, Dakota Begay -

Faculty Advisor, Dr. Leslie A. Donovan -

Past Hobbit Society Leaders


President, Tessa Snyder

Vice President, Sarah Collins

Treasurer, Moses Allen

Secretary, Ryan Valdez

Faculty Advisor, Dr. Leslie A. Donovan